New accessibility requirements for the inside of apartments

Image of an apartment
Apartments

The Quebec government has just adopted regulations setting minimal accessibility requirements for the inside of certain new apartments. With some exceptions, these requirements will apply to apartments located on the ground floor or on a floor accessible by elevator in buildings with more than 2 floors and more than 8 units.

Designers will get to choose between two levels of accessibility:

  • Minimal Accessibility

These units will allow people with limited mobility to access and move around in a few rooms (living room, dining room and washroom).

  • Adaptability

These standards are stricter. Adaptable units will allow people with limited mobility to access and move around in several rooms (living room, dining room, washroom, kitchen, at least one bedroom, and the balcony, if there is one).

These units will be easier to adapt to the needs of people with disabilities later on because they include the necessary equipment and surfaces. For example, the height of the plumbing equipment in these units can be adjusted.

The difference in the cost of these two levels of accessibility is very small (around $300 per unit).

The new regulations take effect on September 1st, 2018, but they won’t be applied until September 2020.  Continue reading New accessibility requirements for the inside of apartments

New tools to help you understand Quebec’s disability law

Did you know that Quebec was one of the first provinces in Canada to adopt a law promoting the inclusion of people with disabilities? In 1978, Quebec adopted the Act to secure handicapped persons in the exercise of their rights. This law was modified in 2004.

Quebec’s disability law lacks teeth. Unlike laws in other provinces and countries, it only applies to the public sector (ministries, government agencies and municipalities), and it has no clear goals or penalties to ensure compliance. That’s why Quebec Accessible is calling for a stronger provincial law to promote accessibility and inclusion for people with disabilities.

We have developed new tools to help you understand the content and gaps in Quebec’s law. Click here to learn more about the law, the limited results achieved so for, and our recommendations for improving the law.

Please share these resources with your networks. Information about accessibility laws in other provinces will soon be available on our website.

Stay tuned for news about our upcoming campaign for the provincial elections this fall.

Manitoba Customer Service Accessibility Standards Will Take Effect This Fall

The first standards under the Accessibility for Manitobans Act, the Customer Service Standards, will take effect for the private sector this fall. These standards plan for actions, policies and practices to remove and prevent barriers to accessibility in customer service.

Click here to learn more about the standards.

Click here to read news coverage on this topic.

New Federal Accessibility Bill Receives No Coverage in the French Media

On June 20, the federal government presented Bill C-81, the Accessible Canada Act. Canada’s disability community has been waiting for this bill for decades. The bill aims to eliminate and prevent barriers facing people with disabilities in areas within the power of the federal government (ex: employment, the physical environment, information technologies). If passed, the bill would help ensure the full inclusion and social participation of more than 600 000 Quebecers with disabilities.

Although this historic event was covered in the major anglophone media (CBC, The Globe and Mail, CTV, The Star, National Post), it received no coverage in the francophone media. This is unacceptable. Disability issues are social issues that affect us all. They deserve better media coverage.

Quebec Accessible denounces this oversight in the French media. Like all other citizens, the voices and experiences of people with disabilities deserve to be heard. How can we critically examine the issues that affect us and ensure that our rights and freedoms are respected if our issues are ignored by the media?

We urge the French media to give equal attention to disability issues. Let’s unite our voices and take the space we deserve in Quebec society! Please share this message with your networks.

Nouvelles exigences d’accessibilité à l’intérieur des logements

Image d'un logement
Logements

Le gouvernement du Québec vient d’adopter un règlement exigeant une accessibilité minimale à l’intérieur de certains nouveaux logements. Les exigences sont applicables aux nouveaux logements situés à l’étage d’entrée ou desservis par un ascenseur dans des bâtiments de plus de 2 étages et de plus de 8 unités, sauf exception.

Les concepteurs auront le choix entre deux niveaux d’accessibilité :

  • L’accessibilité minimale

Ces logements permettront aux personnes à mobilité réduite d’accéder à quelques pièces (le salon, la salle à manger et la toilette) et d’y circuler aisément.

  • L’adaptabilité

Ces normes sont plus contraignantes. Les logements adaptables permettront aux personnes à mobilité réduite d’accéder à plusieurs pièces (le salon, la salle à manger, la toilette, la cuisine, au moins une chambre et le balcon, le cas échéant) et d’y circuler aisément.

Ces logements seront plus faciles à adapter ultérieurement aux besoins des personnes handicapées, car ils prévoient les surfaces et les installations nécessaires, par exemple la plomberie ajustable en hauteur.

La différence de coût entre ces deux normes d’accessibilité est minime, soit environ 300 $ par logement.

Le nouveau règlement entrera en vigueur le 1er septembre 2018, mais il ne sera pas appliqué avant septembre 2020.  Continuer la lecture de Nouvelles exigences d’accessibilité à l’intérieur des logements 

Melanie Benard parle de l’interdiction des pailles en plastique à la radio CBC

Melanie Benard, co-fondatrice de Québec accessible, a donné une entrevue à l’émission Daybreak sur les ondes de la radio CBC ce matin. Elle a expliqué comment l’élimination des pailles en plastique des restaurants et festivals pourrait nuire aux personnes handicapées.

Cliquez ici pour écouter l’entrevue (en anglais).

Pailles en plastique

Pailles en plastique

Des nouveaux outils pour vous aider à comprendre la loi québécoise

Saviez-vous que le Québec a été l’une des premières provinces du Canada à adopter une loi visant l’inclusion des personnes handicapées? En 1978, il a adopté la Loi assurant l’exercice des droits des personnes handicapées. Cette loi a été modifiée en 2004.

La loi québécoise manque du mordant. Contrairement aux lois d’autres provinces et pays, elle s’applique seulement au secteur public (ministères, organismes gouvernementaux et municipalités). Elle ne fixe aucun objectif clair et ne prévoit aucune pénalité si ses dispositions ne sont pas respectées. C’est la raison pour laquelle Québec accessible revendique une nouvelle loi provinciale plus coercitive pour promouvoir l’accessibilité et l’inclusion des personnes handicapées.

Nous avons développé de nouveaux outils pour vous aider à comprendre le contenu et les lacunes de la loi québécoise. Cliquez ici pour en apprendre davantage sur la loi, les résultats limités obtenus à ce jour ainsi que nos recommandations pour améliorer la loi.

Nous vous invitons à partager ces outils dans vos réseaux. Des ressources sur les lois sur l’accessibilité d’autres provinces seront bientôt offertes sur notre site web.

Restez à l’écoute pour en savoir plus sur notre campagne à venir en vue des élections provinciales cet automne.

Manitoba : les normes pour le service à la clientèle prendront effet cet automne

Les premières normes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les Manitobains, les normes pour le service à la clientèle, prendront effet pour le secteur privé cet automne. Ces normes prévoient des mesures, des politiques et des pratiques pour éliminer et prévenir les obstacles dans le service à la clientèle.

Pour en apprendre plus sur ces normes, cliquez ici.

Pour lire un article (en anglais) à ce sujet, cliquez ici.

Nouveau projet de loi fédérale sur l’accessibilité : où sont les médias francophones?

Le 20 juin dernier, le gouvernement fédéral a déposé le projet de loi C-81, la Loi canadienne sur l’accessibilité. Ce projet de loi était attendu depuis des décennies par la communauté des personnes handicapées à travers le Canada. Il a comme objectif d’éliminer et de prévenir les obstacles à l’accessibilité dans les domaines relevant de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral (par exemple, l’emploi, l’environnement physique et les technologies de l’information).

Si ce projet de loi est adopté, il contribuera à assurer l’inclusion et la pleine participation sociale des plus de 600 000 Québécois et Québécoises handicapé·e·s.

Québec accessible dénonce ces « oublis » à répétition de la part des médias francophones. Comme les autres citoyen·ne·s, les personnes handicapées méritent que leur vécu soit pris en compte et que leurs témoignages soient entendus. Comment assurer le respect de nos droits et libertés et avoir un regard critique sur les enjeux nous concernant s’ils sont ignorés par les médias qui nous informent?

Nous invitons les médias francophones à considérer les enjeux du handicap comme des enjeux sociaux à part entière. Unissons nos voix et prenons la place qui nous revient dans la société québécoise. Nous vous remercions de faire circuler ce message dans vos réseaux.